Strange Diet Tip #1

I have always had a ferocious love of food.  I’m not talking about a nuanced palate or culinary expertise.  I’m talking about the yum-that’s-good-I’m-going-to-eat-more-of-it kind of food love.  Inevitably, this becomes a love/hate relationship and has led to a fair amount of energy spent on monitoring the types and amounts of food I ingest.

40268_770701700469_2009168_nworth it.

It’s surprisingly challenging, right??  Along the way, I’ve come up with a few ideas that seem to be helpful to me at least some of the time.  I’d like to share them periodically, so look out for re-occurring  “Strange Diet Tip” entries.

To give credit where due, I should mention that many of these ideas came about in conversations with a great dietician in Nyack, NY who has a lot of smart ideas about how behavioral modifications can impact diet and healthy living.  Check out Jennifer’s website for some of them.  Now, without further ado, my first Strange Diet Tip:

Lay in Bed.

Yup, that’s it.  Just lay in bed.  The pounds fall right off.

Okay, there’s a little more to it than that.  Let me explain.  I don’t know about you, but when I get home from work, I am that lethal combination of hungry and tired.  This would usually send me straight to the kitchen for whatever could make it to my mouth the fastest.  Even when I wasn’t hungry, it became a type of routine that encouraged mindless eating… and a lot of it.  What’s a girl to do?

Lay in bed, that’s what.  Here’s the change: whenever possible, I now head to the bedroom as soon as I walk in the door (after taking off my icky hospital clothes, of course).  Sometimes I close my eyes and rest for a few minutes (or hours- oops!).   I might think about what I want to make for dinner or peruse Pinterest.  Lately I’ve been inputting my daily calories into MyFitnessPal.  The thing is, it doesn’t really matter what I use that time for.  The point is that laying in bed allows me to do the following:

  • stop the negative routine
  • regain some energy
  • reassess my level of hunger
  • devise a plan for the evening (food-wise and otherwise)

Plus, being in bed is awesome.  Even so, laying in bed might not be the exact strategy for you.  The point is to identify the circumstances that drive unhealthy habits and then find a way to interrupt them.  I would love to hear how other people have successfully applied this principle.  Share please!!

~Sam

2 thoughts on “Strange Diet Tip #1

  1. Pingback: Passive Aggressive Diet Tip #2 | Can May Should Will

Leave a Reply

